Finding Faith in Prison

By Marjorie Holmes, in How Can I Find You, God?

Lord, Lord, could I do as much for you if put to the test?

Would I be able to endure what today’s martyrs are still enduring? … Tortured for their faith, brutally tortured, I’m afraid I wouldn’t bear up long.

I didn’t think I could even read about torture until In God’s Underground came into my hands. But I had to, something drove me into it, past the jacket that told me its author, Richard Wurmbrand, a converted Jew, had spent fourteen years in Romanian prisons because he would not collaborate with the conquering Communists. And there, starved, beaten, savagely tortured, his faith actually grew. He determined to use suffering as an opportunity to win souls for Christ — and did!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOA8iJ9YZWQ

Leave a Reply

