How Do I Find God’s Will

“Does God have a plan for my life?” It is a question we tend to ask ourselves, and ask often, especially in our earliest moments of faith, as we try to determine just how much of our trust we can and should place in God’s saving grace.

When we are assured, by Scripture and godly counsel, that He does, indeed have a plan, the next question arises. My son asked it just the other day, although he is only six years old. “How can I know what God wants me to do?” Or in other words, “How do I find God’s will?”

A vital question, especially as the New Year starts and we seek direction and guidance, or perhaps begin some new ventures (or hope to if we could only figure out which way to go).

How do we find God’s will and plan for our lives?

I spoke to my son of the verse that promises as we delight ourselves in Him, the Lord, He will give us the desires of our heart. Of course, my son then asked, “Does that mean I can do anything I want?” He was speaking about vocations, and is debating between three main ones: farmer, fire-fighter, and preacher. Although I did mention to him that he does have plenty of time to decide (he is not even seven, after all), I didn’t want to completely shut down the conversation, because it is beneficial even for young children to at times go through the process of something they can’t entirely figure out in one sitting.

And so it was. I told him that, no, that scripture doesn’t mean he can do whatever he likes. But it does mean that, as he continues to learn more about Jesus and grow in faith in the days and months and years to come, he will (God willing) come to place more of his faith and trust in Christ, and in His perfect love and plan for his life. I shared with him how it worked for me. That when I was young, there were placed I wanted to go and things I wanted to do, yet as I continued growing and as I slowly asked more and more for God to lead and guide me in life, certain paths grew clear and bright for me and I knew they were the direction I needed to journey in my walk with the Lord.

Sometimes these were real places, like going overseas and being involved in missions work. Sometimes they were places of the soul and the heart, even dark paths that I felt I traveled alone, but came through on the other side knowing that I had never been alone.

Does God have a perfect purpose and plan for your life?

Undoubtedly, yes!

How can you find that plan? Delight yourself in Him (Psalm 37:4). Seek Him and ask (James 1:5). Devote and commit your ways to Him completely (Psalm 37:5). Know that as you do so, He will lead and guide by the power of His Holy Spirit.

Your way will become clear. And you will know that He is walking with you every step.

Leave a Reply

